The Bernice L. McFadden Collection

The Bernice L. McFadden Collection
Publisher: Akashic Books
Publication Year: 2015

The Bernice L. McFadden Collection features four novels from the three-time Hurston/Wright Legacy Award finalist: Gathering of Waters (a New York Times Editors’ Choice and one of the 100 Notable Books of 2012), Glorious (2010), Nowhere Is a Place (2006), and The Warmest December (2001).

Buy from Amazon Kindle
About the Book

McFadden works a kind of miracle–not only do her characters retain their appealing humanity; their story eclipses the bonds of history to offer continuous surprises.”
New York Times, on Gathering of Waters

“Riveting…so nicely avoids the sentimentality that swirls around the subject matter. I am as impressed by its structural strength as by the searing and expertly imagined scenes.”
Toni Morrison, on The Warmest December

“McFadden’s lively and loving rendering of New York hews closely to the jazz-inflected city of myth….McFadden has a wonderful ear for dialogue, and her entertaining prose equally accommodates humor and pathos.”
New York Times, on Glorious

“An engrossing multigenerational saga…With her deep engagement in the material and her brisk but lyrical prose, McFadden creates a poignant epic of resiliency, bringing Sherry to a well-earned awareness of her place atop the shoulders of her ancestors, those who survived so that she might one day, too.”
Publishers Weekly, on Nowhere Is a Place

Look Inside
Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."